MicroCourse 6 – Online Teaching Fundamentals – Synchronous Teaching

Date(s): Tuesday, July 21 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Micro6 – Virtual Synchronous Teaching

This course is designed to help prepare you to teach online in real-time (synchronously).  We will explore how the instructor can prepare for success, flip the virtual classroom, and engage students during live sessions.  To demonstrate the techniques and objectives, this course will be delivered live / real-time (synchronously) during the scheduled time. 

Facilitator: Dugg Steary, Learning Designer

This course is part of the Online Teaching Fundamentals MicroCourses series. The primary objective of these MicroCourses is the pedagogy and teaching methodology of online tools and how they can be used to:

  • Achieve learning objectives
  • Promote student engagement
  • Collaborate among peers and instructors
  • Creative easy-to-navigate course design
  • Assess student learning
  • Offer support to students
  • Create an online learning community

Additionally, we will explore the essentials of the online myClass (Blackboard) tools. 

Delivery
Each MicroCourse will be delivered through a one-hour in-person (synchronous) session with additional myClass (Blackboard) resources and asynchronous activities.  These asynchronous activities will take approximately one hour per course.  All synchronous sessions will be recorded for reference within the myClass (Blackboard) course.  The MicroCourses are designed similar to other online courses you may have completed through Lynda.com (LinkedIn Learning), or Mentor Commons.

Feedback will be provided to participants by course facilitators or peers.  Participants may be required to create a shared-activity, learning object, or assessment to complete the MicroCourse and receive a credential.

All MicroCourses will be open to UFV faculty, instructors, peer mentors and guest faculty. 

Course Access
Each MicroCourse has a separate myClass (Blackboard) course with support materials and resources. Participants will need access to UFV myClass (Blackboard) to complete course requirements.  Participants will be enrolled within each MicroCourse after registration or through self-enrollment.

Self Enroll Registration for each MicroCourse in the series: Self-enroll instructions and How to Video 

Information: https://tinyurl.com/ufvtlconlineteaching 

If you are having any problems self-enrolling for any of these MicroCourses  please email: asktlc@ufv.ca or call 604-504-7441 ext 4546

 

These MicroCourses are ongoing, with synchronous dates and times scheduled weekly – see schedule below

SCHEDULE – June – August

Micro1Course Organization
Tues, June 23 at 11am / Tues, July 7 at 11am /  Tues, July 18 at 11am

Micro2Adapting Instruction
Wed, June 24 at 2pm / Wed, July 8 at 2pm / Tues, July 14 at 11am / Wed, July 22 at 2pm /
Tues, Aug 11 at 11am / Wed, Aug 19 at 2pm / Tues, Aug 25 at 11am

Micro3Assessments
Thurs, July 9 at 2pm / Wed, July 15 at 2pm / Thurs, July 23 at 2pm /Wed, July 29 at 2pm /
Wed, Aug 12 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 20 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 26 at 2pm

Micro4Discussion Forum
Wed, June 24 at 11am / Tues, June 30 at 2pm / Wed, July 8 at 11am / Tues, July 14 at 2pm /
Wed, July 22 at 11am / Tues, July 28 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 5 at 11am / Tues, Aug 11 at 11am / Wed, Aug 19 at 11am / Tues, Aug 25 at 2pm

Micro5Course Videos
Thurs, July 16 at 11am / Thurs, July 23 at 11am / Thurs, July 30 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 6 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 27 at 11am

Micro6Synchronous Sessions
Thurs, June 25 at 11am / Tues, June 30 at 11am / Tues, July 7 at 2pm / Tues, July 21 at 2pm / Tues, Aug 18 at 2pm

Micro7Inclusivity Online
Thurs, June 25 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 6 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 13 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 20 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 27 at 2pm

Micro8 Inclusivity Online
Mon, June 22 at 11am / Mon, July 13 at 11am / Mon, July 20 at 11am / Mon, July 27 at 11am / Mon, Aug 17 at 11am / Mon, Aug 24 at 11

Event Location

Map Unavailable
MicroCourse 6 – Online Teaching Fundamentals – Synchronous Teaching
Date(s): Tuesday, July 21
Time: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Categories
Share