MicroCourse 4 – Online Teaching Fundamentals – Discussion Forum

Date(s): Tuesday, June 9 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Micro4 – Create a Compelling Discussion Forum

This MicroCourse will cover Student led discussions, self and peer assessment, grading and assessing student activity

Facilitator: Ken Harmel, Learning Designer

 

These series of MicroCourses will introduce the essential Blackboard tools, but the primary objective of these MicroCourses is the pedagogy behind the tools and how they can be used to:

  • Achieve learning objectives
  • Promote student engagement
  • Collaborate among peers and instructors
  • Creative easy-to-navigate course design
  • Assess student learning
  • Offer support to students
  • Create an online learning community

Delivery Each MicroCourse will be delivered in a one-hour scheduled synchronous session and an additional Blackboard course and asynchronous activity/ reading/ resource/ that would take about one hour. Sessions will be recorded for reference in the asynchronous courses.

All Sessions will be open to UFV employees. Each MicroCourse aims to require 1, 1.5, or 2 hours to complete, in-line with Lynda.com (LinkedIn) and Mentor Commons online courses. A synchronous component may be necessary in the Synchronous MicroSource. 

Feedback will be on a facilitator and peer feedback basis. Participants must create an activity, ILO, or assessment to complete the MicroCourse and receive a credential. 

Access
Each MicroCourse will reside in its own Blackboard course shell. Faculty will be required to self enroll for each course.

Self Enroll Registration for each MicroCourse in the series: Self-enroll instructions and How to Video 

Information: https://tinyurl.com/ufvtlconlineteaching 

If you are having any problems self-enrolling for any of these MicroCourses  please email: asktlc@ufv.ca or call 604-504-7441 ext 4546

 

These MicroCourses are ongoing, with synchronous dates and times scheduled weekly

SCHEDULE – June – August

Micro1Course Organization
Tues, June 9 at 11am / Tues, June 23 at 11am / Tues, July 7 at 11am / Tues, July 21 at 11am / Tues, July 28 at 11am / Tues, July 18 at 11am

Micro2Adapting Instruction
Tues June 2 at 11am / Wed, June 10 at 2pm / Tues, June 16 at 11am / Wed, June 24 at 2pm / Wed, July 8 at 2pm / Tues, July 14 at 11am / Wed, July 22 at 2pm /
Tues, Aug 11 at 11am / Wed, Aug 19 at 2pm / Tues, Aug 25 at 11am

 Micro3Assessments
Wed, June 3 at 11am / Thurs, June 11 at 2pm / Wed, June 17 at 2pm / Wed, July 9 at 2pm / Wed, July 15 at 2pm / Thurs, July 23 at 2pm /
 Wed, July 29 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 6 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 12 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 20 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 26 at 2pm

Micro4Discussion Forum
Tues, June 9 at 2pm / Tues, June 16 at 2pm / Wed, June 24 at 11am / Tues, June 30 at 2pm / Wed, July 8 at 11am / Tues, July 14 at 2pm /
Wed, July 22 at 11am / Tues, July 28 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 5 at 11am / Tues, Aug 11 at 11am / Wed, Aug 19 at 11am / Tues, Aug 25 at 2pm

Micro5Course Videos
Thurs, June 4 at 11am / Thurs, June 11 at 11am / Thurs, June 18 at 11am / Thurs, July 9 at 11am / Thurs, July 16 at 11am /
Thurs, July 23 at 11am / Thurs, July 30 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 6 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 20 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 27 at 11am

Micro6Synchronous Sessions
Tues, June 2 at 2pm / Thurs, June 4 at 2pm / Thurs, June 18 at 2pm / Thurs, June 25 at 11am / Tues, June 30 at 11am / Tues, July 7 at 2pm /
Tues, July 21 at 2pm / Tues, Aug 18 at 2pm

 Micro7Inclusivity Online
Thurs, June 11 at 2pm / Thurs, June 18 at 2pm / Thurs, June 25 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 6 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 13 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 20 at 2pm /
Thurs, Aug 27 at 2pm

 Micro8 Inclusivity Online
Mon, June 1 at 11am / Mon, June 8 @ 11am / Mon, June 15 at 11am / Mon, June 22 at 11am / Mon, July 13 at 11am / Mon, July 20 at 11am /
Mon, July 27 at 11am / Mon, Aug 17 at 11am / Mon, Aug 24 at 11

Event Location

Map Unavailable
MicroCourse 4 – Online Teaching Fundamentals – Discussion Forum
Date(s): Tuesday, June 9
Time: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Categories
Share