MicroCourse 5 – Online Teaching Fundamentals – Course Videos

Date(s): Thursday, July 23 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Micro5 – Make Your Course Videos

This MicroCourse will cover Intro to Kaltura Capture, Using your phone to record, Effective video practices for online learning (UDL, Territory Acknowledgement).

Facilitator: Robin Pittman, Media Developer

 

These series of MicroCourses will introduce the essential Blackboard tools, but the primary objective of these MicroCourses is the pedagogy behind the tools and how they can be used to:

  • Achieve learning objectives
  • Promote student engagement
  • Collaborate among peers and instructors
  • Creative easy-to-navigate course design
  • Assess student learning
  • Offer support to students
  • Create an online learning community

Delivery Each MicroCourse will be delivered in a one-hour scheduled synchronous session and an additional Blackboard course and asynchronous activity/ reading/ resource/ that would take about one hour. Sessions will be recorded for reference in the asynchronous courses.

All Sessions will be open to UFV emplyees. Each MicroCourse aims to require 1, 1.5, or 2 hours to complete, in-line with Lynda.com (LinkedIn) and Mentor Commons online courses. A synchronous component may be necessary in the Synchronous MicroSource. 

Feedback will be on a facilitator and peer feedback basis. Participants must create an activity, ILO, or assessment to complete the MicroCourse and receive a credential 

Access
Each MicroCourse will reside in its own Blackboard course shell. Faculty will be required to self enroll for each course.

Self Enroll Registration for each MicroCourse in the series: Self-enroll Registration instructions and How to Video 

Information: https://tinyurl.com/ufvtlconlineteaching 

If you are having any problems self-enrolling for any of these MicroCourses  please email: asktlc@ufv.ca or call 604-504-7441 ext 4546

 

These MicroCourses are ongoing, with synchronous dates and times scheduled weekly – see schedule below

SCHEDULE – June – August

Micro1Course Organization
Tues, June 23 at 11am / Tues, July 7 at 11am /  Tues, July 18 at 11am

Micro2Adapting Instruction
Wed, June 24 at 2pm / Wed, July 8 at 2pm / Tues, July 14 at 11am / Wed, July 22 at 2pm /
Tues, Aug 11 at 11am / Wed, Aug 19 at 2pm / Tues, Aug 25 at 11am

Micro3Assessments
Thurs, July 9 at 2pm / Wed, July 15 at 2pm / Thurs, July 23 at 2pm /Wed, July 29 at 2pm /
Wed, Aug 12 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 20 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 26 at 2pm

Micro4Discussion Forum
Wed, June 24 at 11am / Tues, June 30 at 2pm / Wed, July 8 at 11am / Tues, July 14 at 2pm /
Wed, July 22 at 11am / Tues, July 28 at 2pm / Wed, Aug 5 at 11am / Tues, Aug 11 at 11am / Wed, Aug 19 at 11am / Tues, Aug 25 at 2pm

Micro5Course Videos
Thurs, July 16 at 11am / Thurs, July 23 at 11am / Thurs, July 30 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 6 at 11am / Thurs, Aug 27 at 11am

Micro6Synchronous Sessions
Thurs, June 25 at 11am / Tues, June 30 at 11am / Tues, July 7 at 2pm / Tues, July 21 at 2pm / Tues, Aug 18 at 2pm

Micro7Inclusivity Online
Thurs, June 25 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 6 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 13 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 20 at 2pm / Thurs, Aug 27 at 2pm

Micro8 Inclusivity Online
Mon, June 22 at 11am / Mon, July 13 at 11am / Mon, July 20 at 11am / Mon, July 27 at 11am / Mon, Aug 17 at 11am / Mon, Aug 24 at 11

Event Location

Map Unavailable
MicroCourse 5 – Online Teaching Fundamentals – Course Videos
Date(s): Thursday, July 23
Time: 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Categories
Share